Women Sevens Series
Share on:
Email this page to a friend
Cancel Send

The World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series (known as the IRB Women’s Sevens World Series before the 2014-15 season, and as the HSBC Women’s World Rugby Sevens Series from the 2015-16 through sponsorship by HSBC[1]) is a series of international rugby union sevens tournaments for women’s national teams run by World Rugby. It debuted in the 2012–13 season as a successor for the IRB Women’s Sevens Challenge Cup held in 2011-12.

The series, the women’s counterpart to the HSBC Sevens World Series, is intended to provide elite-level women’s competition between rugby nations and develop the Sevens game in advance of the creation of an Olympic sevens competition in 2016.

As with the men’s Sevens World Series, teams compete for the title by accumulating points based on their finishing position in each tournament. The inaugural 2012–13 series consisted of four tournaments on three continents. The first two events were hosted by the United Arab Emirates (specifically Dubai) and the United States, both of which host events in the men’s version. The other two events were hosted by China and the Netherlands.

For the second series in 2013–14, five tournaments took place; a sixth had initially been announced, but never materialized. All nations that hosted events in 2012–13 hosted in the second season, with the added event hosted by Brazil.[2]

The series expanded to six events for 2014–15. The Dubai, Brazil, USA, and Netherlands events remain on the schedule. China was not on the 2014–15 schedule. New rounds of the series were launched in Canada (specifically in Greater Victoria) and London.[3]