Skipper Cup
Share on:
Email this page to a friend
Cancel Send

Founded in 1963 to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of the Fiji Rugby Union, the FRU Cup brings together all the major unions, with typically the top four from the round-robin qualifying for the semi-finals. In the early years, there were six major provinces competing, though that number has slowly increased as rugby has become more developed. Seven different teams have managed to win the coveted trophy.

Provinces are responsible for their own home games and keep the gate-takings from those matches. The first game this year kicks off on April 13.

The 2018 Skipper Cup was won by Suva after one of the all time greatest comebacks in history, defeating Nadroga at ANZ Stadium

Again in 2019 Suva retain the title after beating Nadroga in the final 34- 26 at ANZ Stadium, Suva.

2020 Skipper Cup Competition will feature Yasawa and Lautoka after finishing in top 2 of the Vodafone Vanua Cup Competition last year.

Tailevu and Rewa are the 2 teams from Skipper competition last year to be relegated to the Vodafone Vanua Cup this year after finishing off in bottom 2 in the 2019 Skipper points table.