Share on:
Email this page to a friend
Cancel Send

Rooster Chicken Fijiana 15s add two historic test matches to the RWC build-up

Fiji Rugby has today confirmed two historic and final test matches for the Rooster Chicken Fijiana 15’s in their Rugby World Cup preparations, hosting Wahine Maori 15s and Canada in Suva.

The Rooster Chicken Fijiana plays New Zealand’s Wahine Maori side on the 16th of this month and then meets Canada a week later on Friday the 23rd of September. Both matches kick off at 6pm and will be played at HFC Bank Stadium in Suva.

FRU Acting Chief Executive Sale Sorovaki said it’s indeed a milestone for the union to host two high-profile teams in Fiji.

‘We have not played any international test matches here at home and to get Wahine Maori and Canada, is just setting up another level when it comes to women’s in rugby.

With World Rugby’s initiative of dedicating the month of September to Women’s Rugby, these two matches are vital in promoting the women’s game in Fiji, and most importantly, give our Fijiana team the much-needed game time it needs leading up to our first ever participation in Women’s Rugby World Cup to be held in New Zealand.

It is also a great opportunity for the fans who are raring to see our Fijiana girls play at home to come down on the two Saturdays and support the Fijiana 15s which will be flying our flag for the first time at Rugby World Cup in New Zealand” said Sorovaki.

Sorovaki added that the ticket prices and other necessary details will be released in due course.

Meanwhile, Rooster Chicken Fijiana Head Coach Senirusi Seruvakula has named a 32-member extended squad for two test matches.

Seruvakula has ringed in changes and has included a few players who were impressive during the Oceania Championship earlier this year.

Players such as Bitila Tawake, Jade Coates, Sereima Leweniqila, Reijieli Laqeretabua and Roela Radiniyavuni will guide the pack.

 The Rooster Chicken Fijiana 15s 32-member extended squad:


Vika Matarugu

Jiowana Sauto

Bitila Tawake



Iris Verebalavu

Mereoni Namositava

Vuanimasei Rasolea

Joma Sera

Bulou Vasuturaga

Tiana Robanakadavu



Asinate Serevi

Sulita Waisega

Jade Coates

Laisa Taga

Merevesi Ofakimalino



Sereima Leweniqila

Karalaini Naisewa

Akosita Ravato

Ema Adivitaloga

Fulori Nabura



Ana Maria Roqica

Evivi Senikarivi



Merewalesi Rokouono

Kolora Lomani



Raijieli Laqeretabua

Vani Arei

Mela Matanatabu



Vitalina Naikore

Ilisapeci Delaiwau

Akasnisi Sokoiwasa

Talei Wilson



Roela Radiniyavuni

Timaima Ravisa

Signup to our Newsletter