Share on:
Email this page to a friend
Cancel Send

Raiwalui names Flying Fijians squad for Rugby World Cup opener against Wales.

Flying Fijians Head Coach Simon Raiwalui has named his maiden Rugby World Cup 23-member squad for the opening match against Wales on Monday.

Captain Waisea Nayacalevu will lead the side in a much-anticipated match that has been getting a lot of interest from the fans locally and overseas.

Raiwalu said “We have been building towards this game and everyone has worked hard since the time we gathered in Taveuni. It’s an amazing group of players and everyone is looking forward to Sunday.”

14 players will celebrate their first ever Rugby World Cup appearance while three players will mark their third campaign with the Flying Fijians at the mecca of the 15s tournament.

The front row is packed with experienced with Eroni Mawi and Luke Tagi on the props while Sam Matavesi at hooker.

The impressive pair of Isoa Nasilasila and Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta will pair up in the locks while Albert Tuisue and Lekima Tagitagivalu partner up on the flanks. Viliame Mata is at number eight.

Frank Lomani and Teti Tela will share the halves combination while Vinaya Habosi and Selesitino Ravutaumada will provide speed on the wings. Waisea Nayacalevu and Semi Radradra will control the play in the midfield while Ilaisa Droasese is at fullback.

Raiwalui has named powerful and experienced players on the bench. Peni Ravai, Levani Botia, and Josua Tuisova are expected to hit the tempo in the second spell.

He said “This team is all about doing what is the next challenge and how we improve each week. They have been working everyday and pushing themselves to the limit. We want to create something for us and for the people and we are working towards it.”

Flying Fijians play Wales at 7am FJT on Sunday.

Flying Fijians squad V Wales 
1. Eroni Mawi
2. Sam Matavesi
3. Luke Tagi
4. Isoa Nasilasila
5. Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta
6. Albert Tuisue
7. Lekima Tagitagivalu
8. Viliame Mata
9. Frank Lomani
10. Teti Tela
11. Vinaya Habosi
12. Semi Radradra
13. Waisea Nayacalevu
14. Selesitino Ravutaumada
15. Ilaisa Droasese
16. Tevita Ikanivere
17. Peni Ravai
18.Mesake Doge
19. Temo Mayanavanua
20. Levani Botia
21. Simione Kuruvoli
22. Josua Tuisova
23. Sireli Maqala
Signup to our Newsletter