Official Website of Fiji Rugby Union

Male names traveling squad for Wallaroos test match and Oceania Championship

Vodafone Fijiana 15’s Head Coach Inoke Male has named a 28-member squad ahead of this Saturday’s test match against Wallaroos and the Oceania Championship in Gold Coast in a fortnight’s time.

Male has named five uncapped players, headlined by World Rugby Sevens Series DHL Impact Player of the Year, Fijiana 7s star Reapi Ulunisau.

Male said “The Fijiana 7s players will bring experience into the team because of the match fitness from the World Rugby Sevens series. They will join the team after they arrive in the country tomorrow morning.”

With Ulunisau, prop Ana Korovata, loose forward Mereoni Nakesa, and backs Setaita Railumu and Jennifer Ravutia also hope to earn a test cap this weekend.

Male has retained 12 players who featured at the Rugby World Cup last year in New Zealand. Iris Verebalavu and Rachel Laqeretabua have joined the squad after their club commitments in Australia.

The others who represented Vodafone Fijiana at the World Cup last year are Bitila Tawake, Bulou Vasuturaga, Siteri Rasoela, Asinate Serevi, Karalaini Naisewa, Sulita Waisega, Sereima Leweniqila, Raijeli Daveua, Ana Maria Naimasi and Kolora Lomani.

Luisa Tisolo and Merewai Cumu also returned to the squad after last representing Vodafone Fijiana 15s at the World Cup qualification in 2019.

Also given the opportunity to play at the test level are, Litia Marama, Evivi Senikarivi, Wainikiti Vosadrau, and Adita Milinia while Doreen Narokete, Keleni Marawa, Jade Coates and Vani Arei were part of the Fijiana squad which lost to Wallaroos last year.

Male has named Sereima Leweniqila as captain.

He added they are expecting a tough encounter against the Wallaroos this weekend.

“It will be an exciting test match and my players are ready to take on the Wallaroos. We lost to them last year and but we have prepared well this time around and the players are eagerly waiting to face their opponent” said Male.

The Vodafone Fijiana 15s will face the Wallaroos 7pm at Allianz Stadium in Sydney, Australia this Saturday.

Vodafone Fijiana 15’s squad: 

  1. Iris Verebalavu 
  2. Ana Korovata 
  3. Bitila Tawake 
  4. Bulou Vasuturaga 
  5. Siteri Rasolea 
  6. Litia Marama 
  7. Keleni Marawa 
  8. Mereoni Nakesa 
  9. Asinate Serevi
  10. Doreen Narokete
  11. Jade Coates 
  12. Karalaini Naisewa 
  13. Sulita Waisega 
  14. Sereima Leweniqila {c} 
  15. Raijeli Daveua 
  16. Sera Ravatudei
  17. Evivi Senikarivi 
  18. Setaita Railumu 
  19. Reapi Ulunisau 
  20. Jennifer Ravutia 
  21. Wainikiti Vosadrau
  22. Merewai Cumu 
  23. Vani Arei 
  24. Ana Naimasi 
  25. Raijeli Laqeretabua
  26. Adita Milinia 
  27. Kolora Lomani 
  28. Luisa Tisolo 

Test Match: 
20th May    Vodafone Fijiana 15s V Wallaroos            7pm FJT

Oceania Championship: 
26th May    Vodafone Fijiana 15s V Papua New Guinea        5.30pm FJT
30th May    Vodafone Fijiana 15s V Tonga                               7.30pm FJT
4th June     Vodafone Fijiana 15s V Samoa                               4.00pm FJT

© Fiji Rugby 2024