Share on:
Email this page to a friend
Cancel Send

World Rugby Pacific Challenge

The World Rugby Pacific Challenge is an annual Rugby Tournament held in Oceania and contested by 3 Pacific Island Nations Tonga, Samoa and Fiji with Japan also in the tournament which is run by World Rugby through Oceania Rugby. 

The tournament is a World Rugby Under 23 programme and is contested by National A teams which is locally formed with mostly under 23 players and is also a stepping stone for these players.  

The Pacific Challenge is a platform that creates opportunity as a pathway tournament which bring emerging young talents into the spotlight. 

The Swire Shipping Fijian Warriors have secured the WRPC title in the past 4 years and this year they will be hosting the tournament at the ANZ Stadium, Suva. 

The tournament will be played in a round robin competition format, with each team playing 3 matches. 

The team who records the maximum number of competition points across all three rounds will take the 2020 WRPC Title. 

The tournament kicks of on 6 March as Japan plays their opener against Tonga A at 2.30pm and Fijian Warriors takes on Samoa A at 5.00pm at the ANZ Stadium, Suva. 

Tournament Schedule. 

Second Round- 10 March (ANZ Stadium) 

Samoa A v Jnr Japan –2.30pm 

Fijian Warriors v Tonga A- 5.00pm 


Third Round- 14 March (ANZ Stadium) 

Samoa A v Tonga A – 1.00pm 

Fijian Warriors v Jnr Japan – 3.30pm 


Signup to our Newsletter