Share on:
Email this page to a friend
Cancel Send

Experience to lead the way for Drua

Fiji Airways Drua Head Coach Senirusi Seruvakula has opted to start with his experienced forward pack for this weekend’s second round NRC match against Brisbane City in Lautoka.

Fiji Airways Flying Fijians Joeli Veitayaki, Ratunaisa Navuma and Mosese Ducivaki have been given the task to lead the Drua’s first half charge against an opposition keen on attacking the Drua’s set piece.

Speaking from the Nadi based camp, Seruvakula says the Drua need to be ready for a focussed attack from their opponents.

“We’re going with the experience to start with, to give us stability in our scrum and line out, as we know Brisbane City will target the set piece.” he said.

“Those boys will do the job in the first half, and then when we bring the young ones off the bench, when the game opens up and play their part”.

The squad for the battle in the Sugar City has not altered too much from round one, with the coaching staff opting for a 5:3 split rather than the 6:2 used against Melbourne.

Peni Raidre earns a start at loose forward with Filiimone Seru out of the 23 making room for Lautoka native Jona Saiwalu onto the bench.

“It’s a short season, so we know we have to capitalise on every opportunity, particularly our home games where we are used to the heat and conditions.”

Saiwalu was a stand out performer in the Vodafone Vanua Championship this season after returning from a stint in the NZ Sevens programme, and will add firepower to the backline for the Drua.

“I’m very honoured to be given this opportunity to be included in the team this weekend, and I’m looking forward to playing at home in front of my friends and family” he said.

Fiji Airways Drua team to take on Brisbane City

Saturday 8th September – 3pm.
Churchill Park, Lautoka.

1. Joeli Veitayaki
2. Ratu Naisa Navuma
3. Mosese Ducivaki
4. Peni Naulago
5. Albert Tuisue
6. Peni Raidre
7. Mosese Voka
8. Eremasi Radrodro
9. Frank Lomani
10. Alivereti Veitokani
11. Levani Kuruimudu
12. Cyril  Reece
13. Poasa Waqanibau
14. Apete Daveta
15. Apisalome Waqatabu


16. Veremalua Vugakoto
17. Eroni Mawi
18. Luke Tagi
19. Tevita Naqali
20. Johnny Dyer
21. Seru Vularika
22. Enele Malele
23. Jona Sawailau

Signup to our Newsletter