Official Website of Fiji Rugby Union

Fiji Rugby secures Super 7’s Series partnership with CJ Patel

The Fiji Rugby Union (FRU) is delighted to announce that its long-term partner CJ Patel Pacific Limited has signed up to sponsor the next season of the Super 7s Series.

The FRU is excited to strengthen and extend its relationship with CJ Patel Pacific Limited after having to deliver the first season of the Super 7s Series in 2021 without a major sponsor.

The series will now officially be called the FUN FLAVOUR Super Sevens Series.

FRU Chief Executive John O’Connor extended his gratitude to CJ Patel Pa-cific Limited for their belief in grassroots rugby in Fiji and for their support of the Super 7s Series in addition to their sponsorship of the Skipper Fiji Rugby competition. We are so humbled for their support in such challenging times.

We at Rugby House are extremely grateful to the team at CJ Patel Pacific Limited for their loyalty and ongoing trust of Fiji Rugby through sponsoring the Super 7s Series.”

He also thanked Coca Cola Amatil for relaxing their sponsorship exemption and through this act of good faith and allowing CJ Patel Pacific Limited to use their Fun Flavor product as the naming rights for the 2022 series. We are so grateful to the Management of Coca Cola Amatil for their kind heart, favorable consideration and for their love for Rugby.”

CJ Patel Pacific Limited Group General Manager Pranil Singh said Fun Flavour has been an iconic brand in Fiji for decades and to associate it with Sevens Rugby reinforces their desire to support the development of grass-root Rugby in Fiji.

“Our sponsorship for the Fun Flavour Super 7s Series will allow aspiring players to showcase their talents and have their chance to represent Fiji on the global stage.

“As kids we have all grown up with Fun Flavour and we want to ensure today’s generation will also get a chance to do the same and have fun at the same time.

“We have some exciting plans for the tournament and lots of giveaways and prizes during the games.

“We are delighted to be part of this new series under FRU Banner and look forward to building this brand and lift the tournament to international stand-ards in the next few years,” Singh explained.

He added “CJ Patel Pacific Ltd has been a long term partner with FRU with Skipper Provincial Cup that has been the development ground for all our current national rugby stars and now, some of them going on to be part of the Drua team also. The commitment from CJ Patel Pacific Ltd for the Fun Flavour Super 7s series further strengthens this relationship and is a testa-ment to the faith sponsors have in FRU.”

Meanwhile, O’Connor added that 16 mens and 12 women’s teams willmparticipate in the first leg of the Fun Flavour Super 7s Series at Lawaqa Park in Sigatoka next week.

“With a lot of interest coming in from women’s clubs we have decided to have a three-day tournament in-order to facilitate all games in ground one.

“The women’s pool games kick off on Thursday the 7th of January followed by the men’s the following day and the finals are set to take place on Saturday the 9th of January,” he added.

O’Connor highlighted that with the assistance of their sponsor, they will assist teams with $500 preparation grant, playing kits and rugby balls.

“The FRU has been working closely with participating teams with regards to the ‘Terms of Participation’, the ‘Rules and Regulations and especially the COVID Safe Return to Play Protocols to ensure that the tournament is run smoothly as possible under the NEW NORMAL,” O’Connor mentioned.

He added that only fully vaccinated Players and Team Officials will be al-lowed to play. We will strictly enforce the wearing of mask in the venue and also ensure proper physical distancing.

The winner of the men’s and women’s category in the 1st leg of the Super Sevens Series will each be presented with the trophy.

The Fun Flavour Super 7s Series Men’s Champion will be awarded with the Fun Flavour Super 7s Series trophy and $20,000, the second-placed team will get $10,000 while the third-placed team receives $5000.

The Fun Flavour Super 7s Series Women’s Champion will be awarded with the Fun Flavour Super 7s Series trophy and $10,000, the second-placed team will get $5,000 while the third-placed team receives $2000.

O’Connor has also thanked its broadcast partners FBC TV for covering the Fun Flavour Super 7s Series next weekend.

Fans can catch the delayed coverage of the games on Day 1 and 2 and enjoy the live coverage of the final on Saturday on FBC’s Sports Channel.

© Fiji Rugby 2022