Official Website of Fiji Rugby Union

Botia starts and Radradra moves to wing as Raiwalui names the squad for the Wallabies match.

Flying Fijians Head Coach Simon Raiwalui has made a few changes and rotations in the run-on team to take on the Wallabies on Monday.

He has maintained the front-row combination of props Eroni Mawi, Luke Tagi and hooker Sam Matavesi. Locks pair, Isoa Nasilasila and Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta get their second straight start at Rugby World Cup. Robust forward Levani Botia starts and partners with Lekima Tagitagivalu and after an impressive performance against Wales, Viliame Mata starts again at number 8.

In the backs, Simione Kuruvoli gets the nod ahead of specialist half-back Frank Lomani, who is on the bench. Teti Tela remains at fly-half. Semi Radradra moves to the wing while Josua Tuisova comes into the midfield with captain Waisea Nayacalevu. Jiuta Wainiqolo will make his Rugby World Cup debut on the right wing while Ilaisa Droasese remains at full-back.

Expect nothing less than more power and physicality in the second spell with players such as Tevita Ikanivere, Peni Ravai, Mesake Doge, Albert Tuisue and Vinaya Habosi named on the bench. Vilimoni Botitu could also celebrate his first RWC appearance off the bench.  

Raiwalui said “We went through the process of good recovery and I players have recovered well and have started to prepare for the next task which is against a very good Wallabies. We have done everything possible for the past few days and are ready for the challenge ahead of us.”

He added “We have done some rotations in the team as Tuisova comes into the midfield after recovering well from the injury he sustained in France and Semi moves to the wing to counter aerial balls.”

Flying Fijians face the Wallabies at 3.45am on Monday.

Flying Fijians match-day squad versus Wallabies:

1. Eroni Mawi
2. Sam Matavesi
3. Luke Tagi
4. Isoa Nasilasila
5. Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta
6. Lekima Tagitagivalu
7. Levani Botia
8. Viliame Mata
9. Simione Kuruvoli
10. Teti Tela
11. Semi Radradra
12. Josua Tuisova
13. Waisea Nayacalevu (c)
14. Jiuta Wainiqolo
15. Ilaisa Droasese
16. Tevita Ikanivere
17. Peni Ravai
18. Mesake Doge
19. Temo Mayanavanua
20. Albert Tuisue
21. Frank Lomani
22. Vilimoni Botitu
23. Vinaya Habosi

© Fiji Rugby 2024