Share on:
Email this page to a friend
Cancel Send

Vodafone Fiji 7s Team for Hong Kong & Singapore Tournament

The Vodafone Fiji 7s Team Head Coach Gareth Baber have today released the names of the Vodafone 7s Team to the 2017 HSBC World 7s Series tournaments in Hong Kong and Singapore.

Known as the mecca of 7s, the Hong Kong leg is considered the premier tournament on the World Rugby Sevens Series calendar.

The Vodafone Fiji 7s team returns as defending champions and Baber has selected the best team for the task ahead.

“I know and understand what the Hong Kong 7s means to Fiji and the Fijian people and I have selected a team that I believe will be able to compete with the other top Teams.” the Coach added.

Making a return to the team are Jasa Veremalua and Isake Katonibau.

“We are happy to have two experienced players back in Jasa and Isake and I am confident that their presence will boost and give confidence to our younger players like Mesulame, Seta and Kalione, Gareth added

Fiji Rugby Union CEO, John O’Connor says that the team selected have a tough battle ahead of them considering that the Hong Kong Sevens is considered our Home tournament and we are the defending Champions. He challenged the Team that they must go out there and perform to the best of their ability and win both the Hong Kong 7s and the Singapore 7s.

“Hong Kong 7s is the pinnacle of 7s rugby”, said Mr Pradeep Lal, CEO of Vodafone Fiji. A win in Hong Kong will quickly erase the recent bitter memories in the first 3 legs of the IRB World 7’s series.”

“The players selected have a tough task ahead. The competition gets tougher with each tournament. We know the fans expect nothing short of win in the Mecca of 7’s after back to back series wins and gold medal win in Rio.”

“Whoever gets named in the final 12, we wish them the very best. Wear the national jumper with pride and do you country proud. We ask the fans to be patient and throw their 100% support behind the players and coach.”

“We the consortium of sponsors are totally behind the team. Go Fiji Go.”

The selected players are:

  • Mesulame Kunavula
  • Kalione Nasoko
  • Setareki Bituniyata
  • Jasa Veremalua
  • Apisai Domolailai
  • Sevuloni Mocenacagi
  • Jerry Tuwai
  • Waisea Nacuqu
  • Amenoni Nasilasila
  • Vatemo Ravouvou
  • Osea Kolinisau
  • Joeli Lutumailagi
  • Nacanieli Labalaba
  • Isake Katonibau

The team will depart Fiji for Hong Kong on Thursday, 30 March 2017.


Signup to our Newsletter